Bruce Mau 6 and Time

Maybe with the clocks going forward, I’ve been thinking about time and how it relates to creativity.  I was really struck with one of Mau’s aphorisms (No 13) in his Incomplete Manifesto for Growth

Slow down.  Desynchronize from standard time frames and surprising opportunities may present themselves.

I’m all in favour of slowing down – that’s part of the appeal of handstitching, drawing and ceramics.  I love that sense of making time stand still, of disengaging yourself from the daily schedule or the generally accepted rules on time (when to get up, when to eat, what to do when it’s light/dark).  On Sunday it was sitting on a sunny bench in the garden sanding down little plaster vessels.  No idea how long I was at it!

Mau also says (No 18):

Stay up late.  Strange things happen when you’ve gone too far, been up too long, worked too hard, and you’re separated from the rest of the world.

‘Stay up late’ really doesn’t work for me but my equivalent is ‘Get up early’ especially at this time of year.  Standing in the garden each morning this week as the sun comes up and the air fills with birdsong, I have felt separate from the daily routine and the press of everyone’s lives around me; yet I’ve also felt more connected to the world, able to soak it up instead of being distracted by chatter and hurry and bustle.  Precious time.  And it’s in the early hours that those ‘strange things’ happen in a creative sense.  Things I’ve been puzzling over fall into place, the solution to a problem presents itself.  And the never ending question of ‘why am I doing this?’ answers itself.

Leave a Reply

