Adventures in printing

A couple of Saturdays ago I attended a one day screen printing workshop at Crescent Arts, Scarborough.  This is a process I had no knowledge of at all but it turned out to be fun.  I was exploring motifs from the manmade elements on my mainly rural (village) environment – grates, lampposts, farm buildings.  I only really learned to control the basic elements of the process on the day but became intrigued by the layering and flexibility of screen printing.  I wanted to try geometrics and repetition, maybe influenced by my recent discovery of 1950s surface pattern design.  This was all on to A2 paper:

 

Back at home, I’ve been teaching myself lino printing with a view to creating some textiles for use at home.  The results so far, onto a plain white cotton (left) and a recycled teal blue shirt (right).

While far from professional, the results have encouraged me to persist – first on the list, a set of curtains for my bedroom …

One thought on “Adventures in printing

Leave a Reply

