Bruce Mau 1

I have been mulling over Bruce Mau’s Incomplete Manifesto for Growth, recommended by my OCA tutor Cari Morton with the intention of developing my own creative practice and generally becoming a better person …

However, I find 43 echoing round my head more than any other point at the moment:

Power to the people. Play can only happen when people feel they have control over their lives. We can’t be free agents if we’re not free.

The day job and domestic duties are completely swamping my creativity at the moment.  So frustrating.  I realise now it’s not simply a matter of time – while a few more hours in the day would be nice, I can usually mange to find 20 minutes to myself.  And it’s not simply a matter of space – I have a lovely dedicated workspace.  And it’s definitely not a matter of motivation – plenty of that.

It’s about freeing myself from the constant noise in my head: the lists of things to do, the dates to remember, the pressures to meet targets… and so it goes on.  Play seems a distant dream with this buzzing around.

Or maybe I should be playing with that idea…

My strategy at the moment is to go with Mau’s number 9:

Begin anywhere.  John Cage tells us that not knowing where to begin is a common form of paralysis.  His advice:  begin anywhere.

I love this.  My first instinct is to begin by tidying up – but no, remember number 25:

Don’t clean your desk.  You might find something in the morning that you can’t see tonight.

So true.  I don’t need much persuading on that one.  So, off to ‘begin anywhere’ – starting with the things on my desk in front of me – and NOT the computer – oh, there’s number 29:

Think with your mind. Forget technology.  Creativity is not device-dependent.

2 thoughts on “Bruce Mau 1

  1. Great to read your response and see which you’ve selected! I agree about number 9; it’s great advice when the first page of a new sketchbook is staring up at you or a new project or commission is making you feel queasy, or if you’ve just not got enough time to make anything ‘good’ and feel like giving up! (No.2 is also good for latter.) If you want another inspirational discussion on creativity (save it for when you have time or need it?), I recommend Neil Gaiman’s Make Good Art: https://carimortonstudio.wordpress.com/2016/05/09/neil-gaiman-make-good-art/ (Very neglected, patchy blog- not an example of good practice.)

    Hope you get more time and headspace to think, make and play soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

