Autumn colours

Celebrating the colours and fruitfulness of autumn with a little leaf printing onto different surfaces, using berries and rosehips from my rather overgrown garden hedge.  (Another good reason not to tidy it up.)  I was amazed at the vibrant pink produced by blackberry juices on fabric – and the same juice was this lovely blue/purple on paper – why so different?  I love the combination with the orange from rosehips.

I set off doing this as part of my textiles course but decided the outcomes were simply too pretty – too pretty?  why is that a problem??  I think the overall effect is quite celebratory – autumn gets a bad press as though it’s the sign that winter is starting but it’s such a beautiful season.

Leave a Reply

