ArtMarket, York 2016

What a fabulous event this was.  Run over a long weekend at York Racecourse, this was my first experience of the Art Market; a fantastic range of really high quality art, design and contemporary craft across all disciplines.  I heard about it from Emily Stubbs who jointly organises it and whose ceramics class I’ve started attending (more on this later).

Some highlights – I bought the most beautiful small jug by Rebecca Callis Porcelain and I’m already saving up for another.  I also brought home a tall slim vessel by Margaret L Glackin.  Ceramics were well represented but there was beautiful work across all media displayed in a light, open space.  The artists were all very welcoming and happy to discuss their processes too.  Other favourites:  Jennifer Tetlow’s elegant stone sculpture; Nicholas Marsh ceramics; and beautiful mixed media pieces by Shirley Vauvelle.

I also enjoyed a lovely (free) workshop with Amy Hughes alongside my daughter and our friend, coming home with a series of small vessels and a very unconventional spoon and fork set.  Amazing access to such a top level artist and she was so encouraging and natural with adults and children alike.  Best exercise of the day:  moulding clay with our eyes shut, to get us to really sense the shape rather than just looking.

I haven’t included any images here for copyright reasons but do check out the links above for the artists’ work.  Plus, when they’re dry, I’ll post images of my creations…

 

One thought on “ArtMarket, York 2016

  1. Lovely post – I’d say one can’t have too many jugs! These look delish. looking forward to see the blind clay…. great idea. Another way to search for that expressive side of your making.!

    Like

Leave a Reply

